nogales

Guest Opinion

Tuesday 03/03/2015
The challenge of becoming a teacher
Posted: March 03, 2015 - 8:23 am

A few weeks ago, my mom asked what I thought about the decline in the number of college students choosing to become teachers. She was aware that nationwide, enrollments in university teacher-preparation programs have fallen by about 10 percent from 2004 to 2012. I responded that, given the current state of educational affairs in the nation, we should probably be surprised that any students choose to teach.

Re-thinking rural health care
Posted: March 03, 2015 - 8:24 am

It was with great sadness that I read about yet one more clinic closing in our beautiful rural Santa Cruz County in southeastern Arizona. This time, the clinic on the chopping block is in Tubac. (“Tubac Health Clinic to close in March,” NI, Feb. 17.)

Friday 02/27/2015
Data shows early education pays off
Posted: February 27, 2015 - 8:32 am

The Family Resource Center (FRC) Program, administered by the University of Arizona Cooperative Extension Santa Cruz County, has been helping families with children aged 0-5 in Santa Cruz County to prepare for kindergarten since 2010. The program now has data to prove that it is making an impact.

Lawmakers are distracted by liberty
Posted: February 27, 2015 - 8:33 am

It’s time state legislators stopped thinking of themselves as the vanguard protecting the freedoms of Arizona citizens.

Tuesday 02/24/2015
Don’t drive drowsy
Posted: February 24, 2015 - 8:16 am

During the past two weeks, we have written about two vehicle crashes in which the vehicle’s driver has either been drowsy or fallen asleep at the wheel. Neither of the wrecks can be attributed to the driver’s being someone elderly and who should no longer be at the wheel.

Time to end the elections duopoly
Posted: February 24, 2015 - 8:15 am

California’s elections system is making news again (“Top-two primary system survives challenge,” by Thomas Elias, Salinas Californian, Feb. 17). “Top two,” in California and elsewhere, is the latest effort to strengthen the Republican and Democratic parties’ monopoly – “duopoly” – over American politics.

Friday 02/20/2015
Ducey proposal bad for schools
Posted: February 20, 2015 - 8:15 am

The following letter was sent this week to all Arizona state legislators:

Congress’ turn to act
Posted: February 20, 2015 - 8:15 am

A federal judge’s ruling delays but doesn’t necessarily halt a new immigration policy due to start today that would allow more undocumented aliens to stay in the United States.

With budget, president calls the shots
Posted: February 20, 2015 - 8:16 am

It may not be obvious from the news coverage, but a good bit of Congress’s 2015 agenda just landed on Capitol Hill with a thud. I mean this literally. The federal budget that President Obama recently submitted runs to 2,000 pages.

Tuesday 02/17/2015
Flaunting the Logan Act
Posted: February 17, 2015 - 8:09 am

You may have heard that the speaker of the House of Representatives, on his own initiative, has invited Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu to come to the United States sometime in March 2015 to speak to a joint session of Congress.

DUI checkpoints infringe on rights
Posted: February 17, 2015 - 8:10 am

A video made by a Florida lawyer has topped 2 million views on YouTube. It’s not anything zany or risqué. It’s about his tactic of putting his driver’s license and proof of insurance in plain view for officers at DUI checkpoints and refusing to speak or even roll down his window.

Friday 02/13/2015
The right to know
Posted: February 13, 2015 - 8:27 am

Why is it that government spends so much time trying to keep the public from knowing how it works?

Ducey has good plan
Posted: February 13, 2015 - 8:27 am

On Jan. 16, Gov. Doug Ducey released his executive budget proposal for Fiscal Year 2016. During his State of the State speech the previous Monday, Ducey alluded to the fact his budget proposal would protect public safety and education. As a citizen and public safety employee, this was certainly welcome news considering the Department of Public Safety has been subject to stagnating, and even in some cases reduced budgets, over the past six fiscal years.

Postal Service’s problem is politics
Posted: February 13, 2015 - 8:28 am

A recent editorial in Today’s News-Herald of Lake Havasu City explaining why the Postal Service is “on the wrong track in pursuing profitability” via slower service was on target (Reprinted in the Jan. 27 NI as “Snail mail gets even slower.”)

Tuesday 02/10/2015
Payment lobby would be a costly folly
Posted: February 10, 2015 - 7:59 am

Unlike some folks who have expressed opinions about local utility matters, employees at UniSource Energy Services actually talk to our Nogales customers every day.

Actions speak louder than mottos
Posted: February 10, 2015 - 8:00 am

Who is going to vote against God?

Friday 02/06/2015
Many of us know we aren’t invincible
Posted: February 06, 2015 - 8:04 am

As a young adult, I take offense when people say that “we” think we are invincible and therefore don’t need health insurance.

Can we have a regular Congress?
Posted: February 06, 2015 - 8:04 am

You probably didn’t notice, but the Senate passed a milestone a couple of weeks back. Before 2015 was a month old, senators had already had a chance to vote up-or-down on more amendments than they did in all of 2014.

Wealth gap in college completion grows
Posted: February 06, 2015 - 8:05 am

Students from poorer families have opportunities to get going on their college careers but they don’t graduate nearly as often as wealthy students.

Tuesday 02/03/2015
Eliminate ticket quotas
Posted: February 03, 2015 - 8:19 am

Last month Sierra Vista State Rep. David Stevens introduced a bill to end the police practice of ticket quotas.

Park names don’t belong to vendors
Posted: February 03, 2015 - 8:19 am

America’s National Parks aren’t for sale.

Double standard in ad outrage
Posted: February 03, 2015 - 8:19 am

Few things can turn public opinion faster than a puppy, as many people learned when GoDaddy.com pulled an elaborate commercial from its Super Bowl ad slot.

Friday 01/30/2015
Schools face a tsunami of uncertainty
Posted: January 30, 2015 - 8:12 am

There has never been a time in public school history when those responsible for providing education have been so hampered by uncertainty. This uncertainty hovers over the subjects to be taught, methods for teaching, assessments, qualifications for educators, how facilities may or may not be used, but most importantly, how funding the myriad mandates will be provided.

Don’t want vaccinations? Please stay home
Posted: January 30, 2015 - 8:12 am

So far in the outbreak that originated in California, no cases of measles have been officially reported in or around Lake Havasu City.

Tuesday 01/27/2015
The importance of hope
Posted: January 27, 2015 - 8:19 am

Hackers target 19,000 French websites after extremists rampage leaving 17 dead. Two people are killed as police thwart a terror attack in Belgium. Former Detroit Rotary Club president gets life sentence for arranging the murder of his wife. Twenty Mexican state officials are being investigated for covering up threats and torture of witnesses to alleged extrajudicial killings. These are all stories in my local newspaper today.

Stereotyping won’t solve world’s problems
Posted: January 27, 2015 - 8:20 am

“Maybe most Moslems (sic) (are) peaceful, but until they recognize and destroy their growing jihadist cancer they must be held responsible,” billionaire media mogul Rupert Murdoch wrote on Twitter in response to the massacre at the French satirical magazine Charlie Hebdo earlier this month.

Snail mail gets even slower
Posted: January 27, 2015 - 8:21 am

The U.S. Postal Service is obviously on the wrong track in pursuing profitability with slower service.

Friday 01/23/2015
It’ll never be time for term limits in Congress
Posted: January 23, 2015 - 8:09 am

It didn’t get much attention at the time, but the elections last November did more than give Republicans a majority in the U.S. Senate. Voters also added to the ranks of people on both sides of Capitol Hill who believe members of Congress should serve a limited number of terms.

Tranquility under threat in Rio Rico
Posted: January 23, 2015 - 8:09 am
Tuesday 01/20/2015
Joy or gloom in the New Year?
Posted: January 20, 2015 - 8:16 am

Perhaps many of us, including myself, are viewing this New Year with mixed emotions: either one of joy that the last one is over or gloom especially after the attack in Paris, France. In this mood, to open the New Year I decided to read a book in order to give me some hope for the future as regards to the geopolitical world that the United States faces. I selected “World Order” by 91-year-old Henry Kissinger, former national security advisor and secretary of state under Presidents Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford.

Free speech allies should still criticize Charlie Hebdo
Posted: January 20, 2015 - 8:16 am

I was first made aware of the horrific attack on Charlie Hebdo employees by my mother. She was watching the rolling news coverage, phone in hand, trying to contact my father who at the time was travelling on the Eurostar, the high-speed rail service connecting London and Paris. A wave of panic rushed through me; the sense of being far removed from such events evaporated.

Friday 01/16/2015
Permission not required
Posted: January 16, 2015 - 8:27 am

We’ll give Kirby Delauter credit: the Frederick County, Md. councilman has seen the error of his ways after a massive and richly deserved Internet drubbing last week.

A clear vision
Posted: January 16, 2015 - 8:27 am

Arizona Gov. Doug Ducey laid out his vision for a path to prosperity Monday, opening the 52nd session of the Legislature with the state of the state address.

Still time to pick a new health plan
Posted: January 16, 2015 - 8:27 am

No matter what health plan you purchased through Arizona’s Health Insurance Marketplace last year, you can still change plans for 2015.

Tuesday 01/13/2015
Invest in understanding
Posted: January 13, 2015 - 8:22 am

The school massacre in Columbine, Colo. almost 16 years ago injured 21 students and took the lives of 12 students and one teacher, as well as the lives of the two student shooters.

Looking forward by looking back
Posted: January 13, 2015 - 8:23 am

With the 114th Congress just underway, the political world is focused intently on the road ahead. Taxes, trade, immigration, climate change, job creation, the Affordable Care Act – there’s a long list of issues and one burning question: whether a Republican Congress and a Democratic President can find common ground.

Freedom of speech must be defended
Posted: January 13, 2015 - 8:23 am

If any place on Earth offers an embodiment of free speech, it is Southeast Arizona.

Friday 01/09/2015
10 questions for conservatives
Posted: January 09, 2015 - 8:19 am

Now that the Republican Party – the conservative voice in mainstream U.S. electoral politics – has attained the most thoroughgoing control of Congress that it has enjoyed since 1928, it’s an appropriate time to take a good look at modern conservatism.

New faces, new opportunities
Posted: January 09, 2015 - 8:20 am

Arizona’s state government has a lot of new leaders, starting with the top spot of governor. The changes won’t be radical, but they should bring some fresh approaches to old issues and offer the chance to seize opportunities to make the state a better place to live.

Tuesday 01/06/2015
Maybe too compassionate
Posted: January 06, 2015 - 8:16 am

Maybe outgoing Gov. Jan Brewer is a bit too compassionate.

Snippets underscore a kind community
Posted: January 06, 2015 - 8:16 am

A column I wrote, “A random act of kindness” (NI, Tuesday, Oct. 21) has led to some wonderful responses from Nogales International readers from as far away as Alaska and Michigan. They have all been very gratifying. But there was one act of random kindness that preceded the experience described in the column that warmed my heart almost beyond words.

Make commitments, not resolutions
Posted: January 06, 2015 - 8:17 am

It’s 2015. People everywhere are making resolutions: lose weight, read more, quit smoking, etc. To resolve is the act of finding an answer or solution to a problem. Yet most of our resolutions are never achieved.

Friday 01/02/2015
Leadership at a key moment
Posted: January 02, 2015 - 8:20 am

What do you do when your first day on the job you inherit a financial malaise and a State Legislature seemingly rudderless?

Getting away with torture
Posted: January 02, 2015 - 8:20 am

Now we have it straight from the chairwoman of the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence, Sen. Dianne Feinstein:

Tuesday 12/30/2014
The places a bike can take you
Posted: December 30, 2014 - 8:01 am

I can’t say toys really made Christmas for me, even as a kid. But Santa hit it out of the park Christmas Day 1974, when I was 11. That’s the year my brothers and I found five bikes under the tree.

Now it’s time to focus on growing the economy
Posted: December 30, 2014 - 8:01 am

Recent economic news has been broadly reassuring. Retail sales are strong, November saw the best job gains in three years, the federal deficit is shrinking, the stock market is robust, and the Fed is expressing enough faith in the economy that an interest rate bump next year is considered a certainty.

Friday 12/26/2014
The gift of hope
Posted: December 26, 2014 - 8:16 am

An ad hoc group of Cochise College employees has spent about a day per month for the last year and a half dreaming about the future. The Strategic Think Tank includes a variety of personnel and doesn’t intend to create a document so much as to engage in ongoing discussions about ideas to strengthen the organization.

Deadline nears for AZ school tax credit
Posted: December 26, 2014 - 8:16 am

The clock is ticking for individuals and couples seeking to help direct how their state tax dollars are spent.

Conservative case for new Cuba policy
Posted: December 26, 2014 - 8:17 am

Since the United States first implemented a policy of isolation against Cuba over 50 years ago, it’s been enforced and defended by Republican and Democratic presidents alike. It’s not an issue that breaks neatly along party lines. In fact, when President Obama announced plans last week to ease trade and travel restrictions with Cuba, Senator Robert Menendez (D-NJ), usually a fervent supporter of the president, was among the harshest critics of the move. Senator Rand Paul (R-KY), hardly a fan of this administration, said he agreed with the policy change.

Tuesday 12/23/2014
Enjoy a great Christmas movie
Posted: December 23, 2014 - 8:22 am

Here we are at the Christmas season which means a time for decking the halls, jingling those bells, singing carols, wrapping gifts and all the rest of the joyous chaos.

Follow us on Facebook