Jimmy Munguia collects his award from FPAA board chair Scott Vandervoet, left, and president Lance Jungmeyer, right.

Jimmy Munguia of Del Campo Supreme was named Fresh Produce Association of the Americas Member of the Year during the organization’s annual meeting on May 29 in Nogales.

The FPAA’s Member of the Year award is presented to someone who goes above and beyond in working for the betterment of the membership, the organization said in a news release.

“Jimmy has earned the respect of his peers because of a steady demeanor and a wise outlook,” said FPAA President Lance Jungmeyer. “He has also made himself available to serve his peers in the association with his knowledge and expertise. He is a fighter – our fighter.”

Munguia is chair of the FPAA’s Tomato Division and he testified before the Arizona Legislature about how the Trump administration’s decision to terminate the Tomato Suspension Agreement with Mexico would harm the state’s economy.

Munguia was re-elected as chair of the Tomato Division during the May 29 meeting, while Chris Ciruli of Ciruli Brothers and John Pandol of Pandol Brothers were selected to continue as chairs of the FPAA’s mango and grape divisions.

Eight distributor directors and two associate directors were also elected to the FPAA board.

The distributor directors are Raquel Espinoza of Produce House, Juan Manuel Ibarra of Marengo Foods, James Martin of Wilson Produce, Juan Pablo Molina of Fresh Farms, Atanasio Panousopoulos of Delta Fresh, Walter Ram of Giumarra Companies, Rod Sbragia of Tricar and Mikee Suarez of MAS Melons and Grapes.

Sabrina Hallman of Sierra Seed and Chuck Thomas of Thomas Produce were re-elected to one-year terms as associate member directors.

This year the FPAA is celebrating 75 years as an association.


Load comments