The Calabasas group includes, back row, from left: Assistant Principal Sam Granillo, Gamaliel De La Rosa, Sabrina Ceja, Miren Miranda, Ivanna Garcia and Principal John Fanning. Middle row: Alexandra Hernandez, Christopher Niebla, Angel Godinez, Sofia Ibarra and Airyle McIlrath. Front row: Cesar Campos, Stefen Kemp and Maria Armenta.

Thirty-eight middle school students from the Santa Cruz Valley Unified School District – 12 from Calabasas School and 26 from Coatimundi Middle School – have qualified to participate in the Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth (CTY) summer program.

In all, 55 SCVUSD middle-school students participated in the Johns Hopkins CTY search by taking the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) – a test designed to measure college and career readiness – along with high school seniors in December and March. Of these, 38 students earned scores that qualified them for the summer program: 420 or higher in verbal or math for seventh-graders and 470 or higher in verbal or math for eighth-graders.

“This confirms for me, what I have known for years, that our students can be as competitive as any other student on a national level,” said Stephen Schadler, assistant superintendent at SCVUSD.


The Coatimundi group includes, back row, from left: Atticus Birkett, Sheila Mendivil, Johana Holman, Leah Hetherington, Edric Herrera, Juan Pablo Nuñez and Principal Rebekah Cabrera. Third row: Instructional coach Jennifer Fischer, Damian De La Torre, Matthew Ramsower, Lluvia Suarez, Aniella Ruiz, Samantha Quijada and Briana Madril. Second row: Hailee Gonzalez, Elyse Batriz, Nataleah Muñoz, Tiffany Lopez, Paulina Fontes, Isabella Cabrera, Elizabeth Valencia and Kayla Riesgo. Front row (seated): Sophia Renteria, David Jauregui, Cristian Padilla, Alfredo Haro and Fiona Solis. Not pictured: Uriel Rivas and Amy Contreras. 

The qualifying students from Coatimundi are Isabella Cabrera, Paulina Fontes, Edric Herrera, Leah Hetherington, Johana Holman, David Jauregui, Tiffany Lopez, Briana Madrid, Christian Padilla, Matthew Ramsower, Kayla Riesgo, Uriel Rivas, Elizabeth Valencia, Elyse Batriz, Atticus Birkett, Amy Contreras, Damian De La Torre, Hailee Gonzalez, Alfredo Haro, Sheila Mendivil, Juan Nuñez, Samantha Quijada, Sophia Renteria, Aniella Ruiz, Fiona Solis and Luvia Suarez.

The qualifying students from Calabasas are Cesar Campos, Angel Godinez, Alexandra Hernandez, Stefen Kemp, Christopher Niebla, Maria Armenta, Sabrina Ceja, Gamaliel De La Rosa, Ivanna Garcia, Sofia Ibarra, Airyle McIlrath and Miren Miranda.

For more information about the Johns Hopkins CTY, see

(News release submitted by Carol Cullen of the Santa Cruz Valley Unified School District.)


Load comments