On Monday, Jan. 20, I was walking north on the west side of Avenida Gandara in Rio Rico when I observed a large English bulldog-looking animal coming in my direction. The dog was barking and acting aggressive and made two bluff type charges as I approached. The dog is about half white and ha…

Friday, January 17, 2020
Friday, January 03, 2020
Friday, December 20, 2019

Think of the holiday season. For most people, happy memories come to mind and being surrounded by loved ones. For children in the foster care system, it can be a harsh reminder of wh…

Friday, December 06, 2019
Friday, November 29, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019

On behalf of the Nogales Unified School District, our governing board, students, teachers, staff and all school communities, I would like to thank those Nogales residents who voted t…

Friday, November 08, 2019

Let’s look at a little history of the city’s renewed annexation push. A study was done in 2014 but the plan was scrapped. The story in the Oct. 9 Nogales International, “Mayor wants …

In response to the story about Eastern Santa Cruz County becoming part of Cochise County, I am appalled and disappointed (“County-line committee meets in Sonoita,” Friday, Nov. 1).  

For those of us who were not born or went to school in Nogales, the question often asked is what draws us to this place. For me, it offers an interesting insight into various problem…

CASA of Santa Cruz County is celebrating Veteran’s Day on Nov. 11 by honoring CASA volunteers who have served in the U.S. Armed Forces and continue to serve their community by speaki…

Friday, November 01, 2019